Timeline of Odisha History-Ancient To Modern Free PDF 2022

Rate this post

Timeline of Odisha History-Ancient To Modern Free PDF 2022

This timeline of Odisha history takes us through the journey of the Indian subcontinent from ancient Odisha to an independent Odisha. This timeline of Odisha history covers every major milestone in the history of Odisha.

                The timeline of Odisha history is broadly divided into three categories – ancient history, medieval history, and modern history. By studying the Odisha History Timeline, candidates can have a good grasp of the series of important events that happened in Odisha History. This Timeline of Odisha History help to all Odisha competitive Exam like OSSC, OPSC, OSSSC, ASO, OCS, CT, BED, and other Odisha all competitive exam. 

Timeline of Odisha History Free PDF

Period Events
350 BCE Kalinga conquered by Mahapadmananda
261 BCE Kalinga War and conquered by Asoka
100 BCE Meghavahana established the Mahameghavahana dynasty
350 CE Kalinga was conquered by Samudragupta
639 CE Hiuen-Tsang visits Odra/Udra
650 CE Parashurameshvara temple built by Sailodbhava rulers
845 CE First female ruler Tribhuvana Mahadevi
882 CE Janmejaya I establishes Somavamsis Dynasty
1100 CE Lingaraj temple built by Somavamsi rulers

Medieval History Odisha Timeline

Period Events
1038 CE Establishment of Gangal/Eastern Ganga Dynasty
1135 CE Chodagangadeva shifts capital from Kalinganagara to Kataka
1250 CE Narasimhadeva I builds the Konark temple
1278 CE Ananta Vasudeva temple built by Queen Chandrika
1434 CE Gajapati Dynasty was established by Kapilendra Deva
1513 AD Krishnadevraya invasion in Udayagiri
1522 AD Quli Qutb Shah’s invasion
1541 AD Bhoi Dynasty was founded by Govinda Vidyadhara
1568 AD Karani Dynasty was founded by Sulaiman Khan Karani
1576 AD Battle of Raj Mahal in which Mughals established their rule in Odisha
1590 AD Puri and coastal areas went to Mughals
1606 AD Jahangir separated Odisha from Bengal
1703 AD Odisha passed into the hands of Naib Nazims of Bengal
1751 AD Maratha rule in Odisha

Modern History TimeLine

Period Events
1625 AD Portuguese settlements at People (Balasore district)
1633 AD First British settlement at Hariharpur
1765 AD Robert Clive acquired Diwani rights of Odisha
1803 AD English occupied Barabati Fort near Cuttack
1804 AD Khorda Rebellion by Jayee Krushna Rajguru
1804 AD Major Broughton acquired Sambalpur
1817 AD Paika Rebellion by Bakshi Jagabandhu
1825 AD Surrender by Bakshi Jagabandhu
1833 AD Revolt in Sambalpur by Surendra Sai
1835 AD Ghumsar Rebellion started
1857 AD Surendra Sai, Chandan Hajuri, Ramakrishna Samantasinghar joined Sepoy Mutiny
1865-66 AD Na’anka Famine
1867 AD Opening of College in Cuttack
1868 AD Bhuyan Uprising
1869 AD Formation of Utkal Brahmo Samaj
1882 AD Formation of Utkal Sabha
1896 AD Railway in coastal Odisha started

Odisha Independence Timeline

Period Events
1903 AD Formation of Utkal Union Conference
1905 AD Formation of Utkal Union Samillani
1909 AD Formation of Satyabadi Vana Vidyalaya at Puri
1921 AD Mahatma Gandhi visited Odisha for the first time
1922 AD Peasant Revolt at Kanika
6th April 1930 AD Foot March towards Inchudi at Balasore
14th April 1930 AD Satyagrahis manufactured salt at Inchudi
1931 AD Formation of Odisha State’s People’s Conference
1st April 1936 AD Odisha was granted status of a province
1938 AD Prajamandal formed at Garimal
1st December 1940 AD Individual Civil Disobedience Movement launched in Odisha
November 1941 AD Coalition Ministry formed with Maharaja of Paralakhemundi
28th September 1942 AD Massacre of Eram in Basudevpur
29th March 1943 AD Martyr Laxman Naik executed in Behrampur Jail
December 1947 AD Sardar Patel came to Odisha for its merger
1st January 1948 AD All Princely States except mayurbhanj Merged in Odisha
1949 AD Mayurbhanj also merged in Odisha


( Odisha history pdf, Odisha history book, Odisha history in Hindi, first king of Odisha, medieval history of Odisha pdf, history of Odisha ppt, ancient Odisha, rule in Odisha, the ancient history of Odisha)

Important FAQ

Who was the first king of NEW Odisha?

How many years old is Odisha?

What is the original name of Odisha?

Who was the king of Odisha?